Lackawanna Trail School District August 9, 2010

The Lackawanna Trail School District Board of Education met in its regular monthly meeting on Monday, August 9, 2010 at 7:30 p.m. in the board room public notice thereof having been given in accordance with applicable law. President Frank Tylutki called the meeting to order and directed the secretary to call the roll. Present: Mr. Clarke, Mrs. Johnson, Dr. Lombardi, Mr. Naylor, Mrs. Richards, Mrs. Rigard, Mr. Ross, Mr. Tylutki Absent: Dr. Mould Administrators present: Mr. Rakauskas, Mr. Gregory, Ms. Radicchi, Mrs. Joyce, Mr. Rushefski, Mrs. Skotleski, Mr. Kordish

Mr. Naylor made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Johnson, that the minutes from the July 12, 2010 special meeting be approved. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mr. Naylor made a motion, seconded by Mr. Clarke, that the Treasurer's report be approved as submitted. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Dr. Lombardi made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Rigard, that all bills found to be true and accurate be approved. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mr. Clarke made a motion, seconded by Mr. Ross, that the rate for the contracted car/van drivers be set at \$1.32 per mile for the 2010-2011 school year. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mr. Naylor made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Johnson, that the bus contractors be paid at state formula for the 2010-2011 school year. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mrs. Richards made a motion, seconded by Mr. Clarke, that the attached lists of all district substitutes be approved for the 2010-2011 school year (with the addition of Todd Peters). (will be part of the official minutes) The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mr. Ross made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Richards, that the following professional employees be awarded tenure effective August 25, 2010: Kelly Sepinsky, Jon Hickok, Jeffrey Marx, Joel Nietz, Laurie Burdett and Meaghan Jones. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mr. Naylor made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Rigard, that the following list of tests be approved for use in the 2010-2011 school year.

Test of Cognitive Skills: 2nd Edition Kaufman KBit Key Math Test - Revised Woodcock Reading Mastery Test - Revised Woodcock Johnson Achievement Test Peabody Picture Vocabulary Pennsylvania System of School Assessment Differential Aptitude Test ARMED Services Vocational Aptitude Battery Terra Nova Achievement Test Peabody Individual Achievement Test - Revised Diagnostic Achievement Battery 3 Kaufman Test of Educational Achievement Test of Written Language Test of Reading Comprehension Gray's Oral Reading Qualitative Reading Inventory Standard Diagnostic Reading/Mathematics Tests Phonological Awareness Test

DIBELS G-MADE G-RADE 4-Sight Math 4-Sight Reading

The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mr. Clarke made a motion, seconded by Mr. Naylor, that the following names be approved for the 2010-2011 school year: James A. Nichols, Robert Padula, James Vasky, James Schirg, Mary Smarkusky, Joseph Brown, Gerry Philo, Sandy Fulkersin, Carol Otto, Timothy Sanko, Richard Gray, Edward Schlesser, John Shermanski, Bonnie Gregory, Brenda Warpus, Boyce White, JoAnn Ritter, Anthony Wrightson, Stephen Purguy

## Substitute Bus Drivers

Robert David Allspaugh, Pat O'toole, Leslie R. Nichols, James R. Nichols, William Tyriw, Arthur VanBuskirk, Brian Schirg, Susan Davidson, Vladmir Schlasta, Juanita Bolthouse, Chester Brzoska, William Dobitsch, Dennis Faux, Chelsey Gumble, Heath Gumble, Lori Mikula, Jason Schirg, Kevin Weisenfluh (pending clearance), Della Brown

Private Vehicle Contractors and Substitutes

Kim Vasky, Sharon Earl, Francois Geerts, Kathy Geerts, Vince Kalinoski, Kathy Grushinski, Debbie Hazlak, Theresa Loney, Arlene Sorak, Judith Smith, Cheryl Sutton, Gloria Stabinski, Keith Wilkins, Linell Webster, Richard Webster, Gennifer Sutton, Margaret Burns, Shawnee Baltrusitis, Steven Sorak, D. Wayne Burns, Megan Richards, Brenda Bouch, Mary Schirg, Kim Rosencrance, Margaret Wilkins, Constance Hinds, Karl Smith, Shirley Perucki, Linda Kettell, Gretchen Sheposh, David Button, Gayle Demming, Caroline Matala, Linda Bonkziewcz, Neil Kalaus, Derek Buffington, Edward Kuutz, Robert Ayers, Kenneth Earl, Joseph McGrath, Bruce Weisenfluh, Thomas Wheeler, Robin Hawthorne

The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mrs. Rigard made a motion, seconded by Dr. Lombardi the appointment of Don Kachline & Rajan Mulloth as district physicians for the 2010-2011 school year, with each doctor receiving 50% of the annual stipend of \$10,000, be approved. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Dr. Lombardi made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Richads, that Todd Peters be appointed to a temporary professional elementary teacher position at Step 1, Bachelors +24 column, at a salary of \$45259 (prorated) as stipulated in the collective bargaining agreement, effective on the first day of the second quarter of the 2010-2011 school year. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mrs. Rigard made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Richards, that the following teachers be appointed mentors for the

2010-2011 school year at a stipend of \$450.	
Jodi Rinehimer	Kevin Dikeman
Susan Saxton	Erin Kropa
John Richter	Stephen Jervis
The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.	

Secondary Music Spec. Ed Science

Dr. Lombardi made a motion, seconded by Mr. Clarke, that Kevin Dikeman be appointed Stage Band Director at a stipend of \$2350 as per the collective bargaining agreement. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mrs. Rigard made a motion, seconded by Dr. Lombardi that Robert Fitzsimmons be appointed Assistant Girls' Basketball Coach at a stipend of \$3500 as per the collective bargaining agreement. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mr. Naylor made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Rigard, that Christopher Boland be appointed as a volunteer boys' basketball coach for the 2010-11 school year, all clearances currently on file. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Dr. Lombardi made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Richards, that Katie Bowers' request to take the marching band to the Atlantic Coast Championships in Hershey, Pa on October 30 and 31, 2010 be approved. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mr. Clarke made a motion, seconded by Mr. Naylor, that Mark Johnson be appointed Head Track Coach at a stipend of \$3050 as per the collective bargaining agreement, pending receipt of all clearances. The motion was approved by unanimous roll call vote 8-0.

Mrs. Johnson made a motion to adjourn. So moved.

Respectfully submitted,

Judith Johnson Secretary