## Unapproved Minutes of August 12 Regular Board Meeting All motions approved by unanimous roll call votes unless otherwise indicated

The LTSD Board of Education met in their regular board meeting on August 12, 2013 at 7:36pm [late] public notice thereof having been given in accordance with applicable law in the board room. President Lombardi called the meeting to order and directed the Secretary to call the roll. Present: Mr. Clarke, Mrs. Johnson, Mr. Lombardi, Dr. Mould, Mr. Mulhern, Mr. Ross, Mrs. Selwood, Mr. Strauch, Mr. Thorne. Administrators present: Mr. Rakauskas, Mr. Rushefski, Mrs. Joyce, Mr. Kordish, Dr. Stoker, Dr. Murphy, Mrs. Russell

Motion by Mr. Clarke, Mr. Ross that the minutes from the July 1, 2013 special meeting be approved as submitted

Motion by Mr. Ross, Mr. Thorne that all bills found to be true and accurate be approved.

Motion by Mr. Clarke, Mrs. Selwood that the Lackawanna Trail Differentiated Supervision Plan be approved.

Motion by Mrs. Johnson, Mr. Strauch that Pam Phillips be appointed to a full time elementary secretary position at the probation rate of \$13.55/hour as stipulated in the collective bargaining agreement.

Motion by Mr. Thorne, Mrs. Selwood that the following teachers be approved as mentors for the 2013~2014 school year at a stipend of \$450 per the collective bargaining agreement. Arnie Talarico mentor for Rachel Sapio, Lois Foley mentor for Gina Pricci

Motion by Mr. Clarke, Mr. Mulhern that the Memorandum of Understanding [01-2013] between the Lackawanna Trail School District and the Lackawanna Trail Education Association regarding wrestling coaching, be approved.

Motion by Mr. Strauch, Mr. Mulhern that Keith Youtz be approved as Head Wrestling Coach at a stipend of \$6750 as stipulated in the collective bargaining agreement pending finalization of the wrestling MOU #01-2013.

Motion by Mrs. Johnson, Mr. Ross that Jason Nese be approved as Head Boys' Basketball Coach at a stipend of \$4750 as stipulated in the collective bargaining agreement.

Motion by Mr. Clarke, Mrs. Johnson that Resolution #1 of 2013 be approved.

Motion by Mr. Ross, Mr. Strauch that Joseph Dotter be appointed to the long term substitute chemistry/physics position for the first marking period of the 2013-2014 school year at a salary pro-rated.

Motion by Mr. Clarke, Mr. Mulhern that Kelley Buck be approved as a volunteer jr. high field hockey coach, all clearances currently on file.

Motion by Mr. Strauch, Mr. Clarke that Sarah Ruane be approved as a volunteer volleyball coach, pending necessary clearances.

Motion by Mrs. Johnson, Mrs Selwood that Laurel Kinbeck be appointed assistant marching band director at a salary of \$2750, as per the collective bargaining agreement.

Motion by Mr. Ross, Mrs. Johnson that Kristen Tricarico Kurpis be appointed Instructional Technology Specialist/Coordinator at a salary of \$60,000 as stipulated in the Act 93 Contract

Motion by Mr. Thorne, Mr. Mulhern that Kelly Hopkins' request to take a temporary leave of absence from her secretarial position be approved as per written agreement between the Lackawanna Trail School District and the Lackawanna trail Education Support Professionals Association. Passed 8-0-1, Mr. Strauch abstaining.

Motion by Mr. Mulhern, Mrs. Selwood that Kelly Hopkins be appointed to the long term substitute secondary library position for the 2013-2014 school year at a pro-rated Bachelor's salary as stipulated in the collective bargaining agreement. Passed 8-0-1, Mr. Strauch abstaining.

Motion by Mr. Ross, Mr. Clarke to amend the agenda.

Motion by Mr. Ross, Dr. Mould that the Lackawanna Trail Athletic Facilities Advertising Fee be set at the following rates from September 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014: 3'x4' \$200, 4'x6' \$300.

Motion by Mr. Strauch, Mr. Ross that the Consent Agenda [following \* items] be approved.

- \* That the Treasurer's report be approved as submitted
- \* That the rate for contracted car/van drivers be approved as \$1.38/mile.
- \* That bus contractors be paid at State formula for the 2013-2014 school year.
- \* That the 2013-2014 district substitute lists be approved as submitted.

\* That the following tests be approved for the 2013-2014 school year.

Test of Cognitive Skills - 2nd Edition

Kaufman KBit

Key Math Test - Revise

Woodcock Reading Mastery Test - Revised

Peabody Picture Vocabulary

Pennsylvania System of School Assessment

Differential Aptitude Test

ARMED Service Vocational Aptitude Battery

Terra Nova Achievement Test

Peabody Individual Achievement Test - Revised

Diagnostic Achievement Battery 3

Kaufman Test of Educational Achievement

Test of Written Language

Test of Reading Comprehension

Qualitative Reading Inventory

Gray's Oral Reading

Stanford Diagnostic Reading/Mathematics Tests

Phonological Awareness Test

**DIBELS G-MADE** 

G-RADE

4-Sight Math

4-Sight Reading

Classroom Diagnostic (PDE) **BOEHM Test of Basic Concepts** 

Kevstone Exams

Scholastic Math Inventory (SMI)

Brigance

\* That the following list of bus/van/contracted drivers be approved for the 2013-2014 school year.

James A. Nichols Mary Smarkusky Timothy Sanko Anthony Wrightson Gerry Philo Edward Schlesser Corinna Kinney Robert Padula(contractor) Sandy Fulkersin Bonnie Gregory Kevin Weisenfluh James Vasky James Schirg Carol Otto JoAnn Ritter

Substitute Drivers

James Gregory Pat O'Toole Vladmir Schlasta Mark Jarocha Leslie R. Nichols William Smarkusky William Dobitsch Miles Dooley James R. Nichols Chelsey Gumble Dale Shupp Brian Kane Edward Richards Jr.

Jason Schirg Sandra Snyder Arthur Buskirk Gloria Aten Susan Davidson Brian Schirg

Private Vehicle Contractors and Substitutes

Kim Button Steven Sorak Shirley Perucki Allen Vasky Linda Kettell Francois Geerts D. Wayne Burns **Edward Cooke** Megan Richards Gretchen Sheposh Carol Brecht Kathy Geerts Vince Kalinsoki Brenda Bouch David Button Eric Sorak Kathy Grushinski Mary Schirg Gayle Demming Bertram Harris Debbie Hazlak Linell Webster Neil Kalus Connie Otto Theresa Loney Richard Webster Derek Buffington Peggy McGowan Paul Smith Arlene Sorak Edward Kuutz Kim Rosencrance Judith Smith Keith Wilkins Bruce Weisenfluh Valerie Mallory Gennifer Sutton Thomas Wheeler Wayne Beers Margaret Wilkins **David Gower** Cheryl Sutton Gloria Stabinski Robin Hawthorne Margaret Burns Constance Hinds James Gray

Shawnee Baltrustitis Karl Smith

\* That the fourth grade teachers request to take fourth grade to the Whitaker Science Center and State Capitol in Harrisburg on Friday, May 16, 2014, be approved, at no cost to school district.

- \* That Denise Collins' request to take 4 students to the Student Council Peer Leadership Conference in Reading, Pa on September 24, 2013 be approved.
- \* That Denise Collins' request to take 7 students to the Student Council State Conference in Philadelphia, Pa on November 14-16, 2013, be approved.
- \* That Kenneth Lastowka's resignation as Assistant Band Director be approved, with regret
- \* That Katelynn Knick's resignation as long term substitute physics/chemistry teacher be accepted.

Motion by Dr. Mould, Mr. Strauch to adjourn the meeting at 9:12pm. So Ordered.

There was an Executive Sessions before and after this meeting and one before and after the previous work session.

<sup>\*\*</sup>Items appearing in red are not officially approved or in the official minutes.