Unapproved Minutes of JULY 1 Special Board Meeting All motions approved by unanimous roll call votes unless otherwise indicated

The LTSD Board of Education met in their Special board meeting on JULY 1, 2013 at 8:21pm (late), public notice thereof having been given in accordance with applicable law in the board room. President Lombardi called the meeting to order and directed the Secretary to call the roll. Present: Mrs. Johnson, Dr. Lombardi, Dr. Mould, Mr. Mulhern, Mrs. Selwood, Mr. Strauch, Mr. Thorne, absent Mr. Clarke, Mr. Ross. Administrators present: Mr. Rakauskas, Mr. Rushefski, Dr. Stoker.

Motion by Mr. Thorne, Mrs. Selwood that the minutes from the May 13, 2013 meeting be approved, passed 6-0-1, Mr. Strauch abstaining.

Motion by Mrs. Johnson, Mrs. Selwood that Katelynn Knick be appointed to the long term substitute chemistry/physics position for the first marking period of the 2013-2014 school year at a salary pro-rated, pending receipt of all clearances.

Motion by Mrs. Selwood, Mrs. Johnson that Erika Change be appointed to the temporary professional secondary special education/transition coordinator position at a salary of \$51,810, Step 1, Master's column beginning the first day of the second semester of the 2013-2014 school year as stipulated in the collective bargaining agreement.

Motion by Mr. Strauch, Dr. Mould that Jamie Schirg be appointed to the part-time elementary para-professional position, as scheduled, at the probation rate of \$12.73/hour as per the collective bargaining agreement.

Motion by Mr. Thorne, Mrs. Selwood that Mark Bennett be appointed assistant boys' and girls' volleyball coach at a stipend of \$2325 per sport, as stipulated in the collective bargaining agreement, pending receipt of all clearances.

Motion by Mrs. Selwood, Mr. Mulhern that Jody Kwiatkowski be approved as a volunteer assistant girls' basketball coach, all clearances on file.

Motion by Mrs. Johnson, Mr. Thorne that the following professional teachers be awarded tenure on the first day of the 2013-2014 school year: James Becchetti, Laurel Kinback, Christopher Gercken, Todd Peters, Erin Kropa, Katie Lane, Kathleen Snyer, Laura Evans and Craig Muller. Passed 4-1-2, Mrs. Selwood voting NO, Messrs. Mulhern and Strauch abstaining.

Motion by Mrs. Johnson, Dr. Mould that the following tuition waiver students be approved for the 2013-2014 school year: Michael & Maxwell Bluhm, Willoughby Burnell, Caedyn Calabro, Karley & Kody Cresswell, John-Patrick & Sean Gilroy, Stephen & Tyler Jervis, Rachel Saxton, Novella Wilhelm, Deana Wilhelm, Maddie Lengel and Richard Kordish Jr. Passed 6-1, Mr. Strauch voting NO as he held that tuition should be reimbursed, not waived. This action waived potential income to the district and taxpayers of an estimated \$210,000 (15 students @ \$14,000) and increased the district's exposure to liability issues.

Motion by Mr. Lombardi, Mrs. Johnson to adjourn the meeting at 8:57pm.

There were Executive Sessions before and after last week's meeting and one before and after tonight's meeting.

^{**}Items appearing in red are not officially approved or in the official minutes.